One pan pasta

If you read food blogs, you’ve probably heard of this recipe: Martha Stewart’s One Pan Pasta. This recipe is not new, but it has recently become very popular, partially due to renewed interest by Food52.

As an avid food-blog-ophile, I had previously heard about this recipe. Unfortunately, thanks to my goldfish-like memory, I completely forgot about it until I had this conversation with my sister last week:

Conversation

After I got over my initial shock about the recipe (“ONE pan?! It just cannot work.”), I decided to make my own spin on it.

IMG_5166_LRedited

I thought the pasta needed a umami element, like meat, but I appreciated the idea of a simple meatless pasta. So, instead, I decided to start with sauteed mushrooms, cooked long enough to add a savory, earthy bite to the dish.

IMG_5168_LRedited

Despite this addition, it’s still a one pan meal! I didn’t even rinse the skillet after sauteeing the mushrooms; I just put the other ingredients right in.

IMG_5175_LRedited

Some reviews mentioned that the sauce could be soupy, or bland. To avoid a thin sauce, I added freshly grated parmesan at the end, which allowed the sauce to become just creamy enough to coat the pasta well. To make the sauce more flavorful, I used a combination of chicken broth and white wine instead of water.

IMG_5179_LRedited

And of course, just before serving, I finished the dish with some extra grated parmesan. Pasta can always use more, right?

Like I said above, this recipe is easy-peasy. I kid you not, once all the ingredients were in the pan, it took me 9 minutes flat*. The liquid measurements are marked with a plus, as your pasta may require more liquid. I started with 4.5 cups total liquid, and added as I felt was necessary to create enough sauce for the pasta.

This pasta is best enjoyed steaming hot, at the kind of temperature where blowing on your fork before eating still may not prevent you from burning your tongue. If reheating, add an extra 2 or more tbsps of liquid to recoat the pasta.

One Pan Pasta
Adapted from Martha Stewart

1.5 cups mushrooms, chopped into nickel-sized pieces
12 ounces linguine
12 ounces cherry or grape tomatoes, halved (quartered if large)
1 onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
2 sprigs basil
3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
3+ cups low sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1.5+ cups white wine
1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese + more for serving
2.5+ tsps Sea salt, .5+ tsp black pepper — season to taste

 Chop ingredients as detailed above. In a saute pan (straight-sided skillet), warm 1 tbsp olive oil and saute mushrooms and 1/2 tsp of salt over medium heat, stirring every minute or so for about 10 minutes. When deep brown and irresistible, add all other ingredients, except for parmesan cheese. Bring the liquid to a boil over high heat. Using tongs, toss pasta frequently in liquid to evenly coat. Add more liquid as needed to ensure pasta cooks thoroughly. When pasta is al dente, add parmesan cheese to pan. Quickly stir to thicken sauce. Divide and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

