Cardamom fig cookies

I’ve always had a sweet tooth. If you knew how many cavities I’ve had, you would probably think that I ate only gummy worms for the first two decades of my life. You would honestly be right.

IMG_5216_LRedited

Despite this proclivity for sugar, I have never been a big fan of cookies. Until about a year ago, I thought they were kind of boring. You have your oatmeal cookies (usually ruined by raisins, my #1 enemy), your chocolate chip cookies, and your sugar cookies. Once you’ve had one of each, you’ve had them all, right?

Wrong.

Last summer I made a recipe that changed my whole view on cookies, and ever since then I’ve been putting anything and everything into the cookies I make. Orange? Sure! Cranberry? You betcha! Garlic? Okay, now this is just getting out of control, I’m sorry.

IMG_5207_LRedited

Figs, unlike garlic, certainly deserve a place in cookies. Their earthy flavor develops beautifully in the oven, and the moisture of fresh figs keeps these cookies soft and delicious for days. Cardamom and cloves add warmth and depth to the cookie, making it a perfect celebration of the beginning of fall.

IMG_5226_LRedited

After three of these cookies (I had to try every batch — quality control at its finest), I hardly missed the juicy summer peaches and flavorful tomatoes! Okay, I still missed them. A lot. But gorging myself on these cookies made me feel at least a little better.

IMG_5232_LRedited

Cardamom Fig Cookies
Adapted from fiveandspice on Food52

11 tbsp salted butter
2/3 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup dark brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/4 cups rolled oats
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cardamom
1/2 tsp cloves
9+ oz chocolate*
1 cup chopped fresh figs

Cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until fully incorporated. In another bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (all other ingredients except for figs and chocolate). Add dry ingredients, chocolate, and figs to wet mixture, and stir with a spatula until just mixed. Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes to an hour.

Preheat oven to 350F. 1.5-2 tbsp scoops of cookie dough should be sufficient for each cookie. Bake for 15 minutes, or until cookies look set around the edges. Cool on cookie sheet until cookies are ready to be transferred (into your mouth, of course).

*I used a mix of chocolates for this recipe (5oz dark chocolate, and 2oz each of semisweet and milk chocolates), which I thought added a little extra sweetness that I loved, as these cookies are not very sweet at all. However, any type or mix should work. Also, add up to 3oz of extra chocolate if you are a chocoholic!

Leave a Reply

