Orange cranberry chocolate chunk cookies

Remember when I told you guys I am a recently reformed cookie-ist*? Well, these cookies were part of my 12-step program. By the way, I highly recommend that program — it involved baking (and eating) 12 different kinds of cookies until I felt positively about them again.

*cookie-ist (n.) — someone who is prejudiced against cookies

IMG_5565_LREdited

These cookies are my go-to dessert as soon as fresh cranberries are available at grocery stores. I first came up with this recipe last year when I threw a Christmas party with a few good friends; as the resident baker, I knew I had to make a dessert that was delicious, holiday-themed, and, above all, portable (easier for standing guests). So, I turned to my then-archnemesis: the cookie.

IMG_5567_LREdited

The cookies went over well at the party, but I didn’t really understand how good they were until a few weeks later when I made them for my family at Christmas. My siblings generally scoff at sweets, so our (pre-cookies) conversation went like this:

Me: I’m going to make these super delicious orange cranberry cookies!
Derek: Eh.
Stephanie: Lindsey, nobody wants cookies.
Brian: Yeah, no cookies.

IMG_5572_LREdited

But I had already bought the ingredients, so I made them anyway. Our (post-cookie) conversation went like this:

Stephanie (mouth full of cookie): Lindsey. Please. Make some for me to take to LA.
Derek: Me too please!!!!!!!!!
Brian: The cookies are alright.**

**can’t win ’em all

IMG_5574_LREdited

I’ve also made these cookies for classmates, roommates, and other friends. Every time I love them a little more, and they always seem to be well-received (one of my classmates, Anjali, ate 5 last time I made them….). So bring these with you to a holiday party or a potluck, and share with family and friends. Luckily the recipe makes a lot of cookies (nearly 30!) so I won’t tell if you save a few for yourself 😉

IMG_5575_LREdited

Orange Cranberry Chocolate Chunk Cookies
adapted from Cooking Classy and Keep It Sweet Desserts

3 out of 4 Osimiri siblings approve of this recipe. I just heard Marcus Samuelsson say on Chopped that “Nothing says holiday like the taste of cranberries.” What more do you need? Go make these bad boys!

2 3/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp table salt
1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup light brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tbsp orange zest
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
3/4 tsp orange extract or juice of zested oranges
4 oz each bittersweet, semi-sweet, and milk chocolate
1 1/4 cup fresh cranberries

First, brown the butter until it smells nutty and irresistible. Then, put in the fridge to cool. In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Chop the chocolate into chunks, and cranberries into halves. Prep the wet ingredients mixture by adding both sugars and orange zest to a large mixing bowl. If you do not have orange extract (like me — seriously where do you find that stuff), juice the zested oranges into a pot. Reduce this juice until the volume is less than a teaspoon. Once brown butter is the texture of softened butter, add it to the bowl with the sugars and mix until fluffy. Add eggs one by one, mixing in between. Then, add orange extract/reduced orange juice and vanilla extract. Next, mix in flour mixture until just combined. Fold in chocolate and cranberries. Shape dough into balls, about 1.5 tbsp each, cover, and let chill in the fridge. Bake at 350 degrees on parchment paper-lined baking sheets for about 12 minutes. If you are patient, let them cool; if not, just try not to burn your tongue on a hot cranberry.

Leave a Reply

