Grapefruit, olive oil, and dark chocolate cake

Okay, I know what you’re going to say.

IMG_5791_LREdited

“Nooooo! ANOTHER loaf cake!!??!!”

But hear me out for a minute. Loaf cakes are sublime. Divine, even. Most of the time they come together in no time flat; they’re almost always terribly moist and delicious; and a slice is as good fresh out of the oven as it is the next day, especially if toasted for a little extra crunch.

Moreover, (Queen) Ina has given us the recipe for a loaf cake that never fails. Lemon and blueberry? Orange and chocolate? Pear and brown butter? It always works.

IMG_5794_LREdited

Knowing these things, I decided to venture out on a bit of a limb for my birthday with this cake. Lots of people love towering cakes or dozens of cupcakes overflowing with frosting on their birthday, but I’m a little different. I like to bake something new and different for every birthday. Last year it was a cake with white wine; in previous years it’s ranged from cookie cake to madeleines. This year, it was a cake with grapefruit, olive oil, and dark chocolate.

IMG_5799_LREdited

Since my birthday is in February, the peak of citrus season, I love to celebrate it with citrus-y desserts. This year I realized that I had previously celebrated with every kind of orange, lemon, and lime known to man, but not yet grapefruit. When Sarah suggested to me Smitten’s grapefruit yogurt cake (based off of Ina’s recipe), I knew I had to take it one step farther. So I added olive oil and dark chocolate to bring it all the way into adulthood, just like me.

IMG_5804_LREdited

This cake was SPECTACULAR straight out of the oven. I made it on my birthday before a morning meeting, and seriously considered skipping the meeting to eat it all on my own. I suggest you enjoy while warm – you won’t regret it.

Grapefruit, olive oil, and dark chocolate cake
Adapted from Smitten Kitchen and Not Without Salt

3/4 cup fresh grapefruit juice
1 1/2 tbsp freshly grated grapefruit zest
1 cup plain yogurt
3 large eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 cup sugar
1 3/4 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1  tsp kosher salt
4-6 oz dark chocolate, chopped
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 350F and grease your loaf pan. Put 1/2 cup grapefruit juice in a small saucepan over heat and reduce by half. Cool to room temperature. Add dry ingredients (flour, salt, baking powder) to one bowl and whisk together. In another bowl, mix yogurt, sugar, eggs, 1 tbsp zest, vanilla, olive oil, and reduced grapefruit juice. Slowly mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients until incorporated. Pour into pan and bake for about 50 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean. Eat a slice immediately. After cake has cooled, mix remaining 1/4 cup grapefruit juice, 1/2 tbsp zest. Whisk in powdered sugar to make the glaze. Drizzle over cake and devour.

Leave a Reply

